CofC Logo

Maymester and Summer Sessions

Summer Sessions Can Help You:


Application/Registration Start Dates:

Currently Enrolled, College of Charleston Students: March 20, 2017

Summer Visiting Students (students who will only enroll for summer coursework): March 27, 2017


Disclaimer:  If you are not a permanent residence of South Carolina, then your permission to take an online course in during the summer at the College may be restricted (applicabable to online coursework only).  Please contact Doug Ferguson at for clarification if your state of residence is not listed as a permissable state for online coursework.

Thes following states permit their residents to take online courses at the College of Charleston: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin.

All other states , including the District of Columbia, require additional paperwork, which could pose a delay in the processing of your summer application.  Some states simply require a form to be filled out. Others are more complicated. Utah charges the College of Charleston $1,500 for permission.  Again, please contact the Office of Maymester and Summer Sessions if your state is not included on the permitted list of states that allow students to enroll in summer coursework at the College.